Below, for your viewing pleasure are my 10 favourite films of 2009 in no particular order, picked for pure enjoyment and all out skill in moving me in one way or another whether it be to the edge of my seat, in my heart, got me thinking or just an all out blast of entertainment perfection, many missed out very narrowly and some honourable mentions  go to I Love You Man, Marley & Me, Terminator: Salvation,The Soloist, Gran Torino Fish Tank, Inglourious Basterds and Me and Orson Welles, though I’m sure many of you will disagree with some of my choices so feel free to leave your thoughts as ever… 

District 9 was by far the most surprisingly great film of the year, funny, thrilling, original and most importantly full of pathos, I can’t wait to see what Director Neill Blomkamp does next.

Adventureland would be, if I had to all out choose a number one, it!  I cannot praise this film enough and it just hit a nerve with me, simply put it encapsulates what love is all about, whatever age you are with some fantastic performances and a dreamy quality!

(500) Days of Summer similarly captures that mood of “true” love and how it escapes us all when we think we have it, Gordon-Levitt is one of the most talented young actors around and adds a spark to any film he is in, something that is not easily attained by many.

Star Trek was all out entertainment, a non-trekkie it was one of the least eagerly awaited of the Summer films for me and turned out to be the best by far, balancing the action and spectacle with that all important aspect, characters that are fully rounded and leaving you wanting much more.

Sherlock Holmes was a surprising late entry this year, surprising as it has Jude Law and the shaky Guy Ritchie involved, though expectation confounded me as I sat through an expertly made franchise reboot, bringing Holmes into the modern age while retaining the truth of the character, confiormed Downey Jr. as a big star and talent if Iron Man already hadn’t!

Fantastic Mr. Fox  came as something of a shock, looking ropey at best in the trailers, Wes Aanderson made his stop motion animation unique in a crowded market of CGI, couple the visuals with an excellent script and you had one of the funniest and cleverest films of the year.

Where the Wild Things are dumb-founded me, knocking me for six, packing so much emotion and thought into a bare childrens story Spkie Jonze was able to bring out the inner child in me while really leaving you with something to think about.

The Hurt Locker was one hell of a nail-biter, Jeremy Renner’s fantastic performance aside this was the most intense cinema experience I’ve ever had, and the first truly brilliant film to deal with the Iraq war.

Revolutionary Road should have been a major contender last awards season yet was cruelly over-looked, Winslet, DiCaprio and Mendes were uniformly excellent in this tragic study of the perfection of suburbia gone wrong.

…and finally was The Hangover, not much to say here other than, what a down-right hilarious film, it hit a note with so many and was just  no holds barred comedy showing that Judd Apatow doesn’t rule the box office when it comes to laughs, oh and it made a star out of Zack Galifinaikis over night!

