It was one of my favorites of 2007, the story of a Russian mobster so brilliantly played by Viggo Mortensen. I had always wondered if this would be a stand alone project, but there was room at the end to further explore what happens with the characters of Nikolai and Kirill.

I guess David Cronenberg has been wondering the same thing, telling MTV he wants a sequel “We are moving forward with it,” Cronenberg told MTV News in an exclusive chat. “We all are excited about the idea of doing a sequel.”

The “we” includes Mortensen, who was nominated for a Best Actor Oscar for his role as Nikolai; the film’s screenwriter, Steven Knight; original producer Paul Webster; and original studio, Focus Features. “We are going to have a meeting very soon between me, Steve Knight and Paul Webster to discuss what the script would be,” Cronenberg said. “I have some very strong ideas about what I would like to see, but I would like to hear what they have to say as well. And then after that, if all goes well, Steve goes away and writes a great script. If we all like it, we make it.”

Click here to read the rest, and I really hope this happens and they get the players they want on board. A sequel to this movie would be awesome!

