Obviously I can’t conceivably cover every film or news story. Often it’s because I haven’t run a pirated or leaked trailer – I don’t do that, boo piracy (well mostly)! – but I’m sure there will be a number of questioning missives asking why I’ve run nothing on the movie Twilight.The short answer is: it’s not a project that had particular recognition for me and the recently released featurettes wouldn’t play for users outside the US, so I couldn’t watch them. But now I realise that there are a lot of people who are really excited by this movie. So, I know that those people will be very keen to see the first official trailer which can be seen here, personally for me it simply looks like yet another vampire story in the vein or Buffy.

For those, like me, to whom Twilight was an unknown quantity, the film is based on a very successful series of horror-romance novels by Stephanie Meyer. They tell of Bella Swan, a teenage girl who moves to Washington to live with her father, while her mother goes job hunting with her new husband, and finds herself drawn to a mysterious boy, as teenage girls are bound to do! Turns out he’s a vampire, but a ‘vegetarian’ one who only drinks animal blood. They get the warm and squishies for each other and team-up to thwart a band of evil vampires who want a sup of Bella’s neck.

The film is being directed by Catherine Hardwicke (Thirteen) and features a cast including Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson (Cedric Diggory from Harry Potter) and Nikki Reed. Recently it’s become one of the most searched films on IMDb, despite the lack of big names, so this could be absolutely enormous. the thing is I have word from a very reliable source that from the trailer footage it doesn’t faithfully stick to the original source material, totally missing the atmosphere of the novel as so often happens during book to film transitions.

However you can rest assured readers. I will report on any major Twilight news from now on, be it good or bad!
Twilight is due for release here 9th January 2009. 
